Barbara Harbach’s Complete Orchestral Music

Patrick Garvey acts as Executive Producer for Barbara Harbach’s UK recordings of her complete orchestral music with David Angus and the London Philharmonic Orchestra on MSP Classics.

Richard Price (producer), Barbara Harbach and David Angus at Henry Wood Hall in August 2018
Richard Price (producer), Barbara Harbach and David Angus at Henry Wood Hall in August 2018

“Here is a fine composer with her own unique voice. She has a gift for melody, is a fine orchestrator and is obviously skilled at counterpoint and harmony. Added to this, the London Philharmonic Orchestra is very fine and conductor David Angus obviously provides great insight into how this music should be performed. I look forward to hearing more of her work.”

Geoff Pearce, Classical Music Daily [September 2020]

Music for Strings

MSR Classics 1258

  • Sinfonietta (2010)
  • On Memoriam: Turn Round, O My Soul (2010)
  • Freedom Suite (2010)
  • Two Songs from the Sacred Harp (2010)
  • Demarest Suite (2009-2010)
  • Nights in Timisoara (2010)
  • Lilia Polka (2009)

Orchestral Music II: Symphonies, Soundings, and Celebrations

MSR Classics 1519

  • Night Soundings for Orchestra
  • Gateway Festival Symphony
  • A State Divided – a Missouri Symphony
  • Jubilee Symphony

Orchestral Music III: Portraits in Sound

MSR Classics 1614

  • Symphony No.7 “O Pioneers!”
  • Symphony No.8 “The Scarlet Letter”
  • Symphony No.9 “Celestial Symphony”
  • Symphony No.10 “Symphony for Ferguson”

Orchestral Music Iv: Symphonic Storytelling

MSR Classics 1646

  • Symphony No.11 “Retourner”
  • Hypocrisy – Orchestral Suite

Orchestral Music V: Expressions for Orchestra

MSR Classics 1672

  • Suite Luther
  • Arabesque Noir
  • Early American Scandals
  • Recitative and Aria

Orchestral Music VI: the Sound the Stars Make

MSR Classics 1714

  • Visions of Hildegard
  • Mischances of Life
  • The Sound the Stars Make Rushing Through the Sky
  • Eclipsis Lunae
  • Spaindango – a Tango Caprice

Orchestral Music VII

To Be Released in 2023 – MSR Classics

  • Following the Sacred Sun
  • Spiritualis: Suite for Orchestra
  • Choices and Remembrances